

MINUTES OF THE TWENTY-THIRD ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE CLASSIC YACHT ASSOCIATION OF NEW ZEALAND INC

held at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron on Tuesday 7th August 2018 at 7.00pm

Chairman Peter Mence presided over and welcomed the 100 members and guests present at the Twenty-Third Annual General Meeting of the Classic Yacht Association.

Apologies: Derek Brandt, Warwick Marshall, Alan Doube, Bill Falconer, James Dreyer, Philip Taylor, Chris Shirley, Brian Fulton, Jill Hetherington, Richard Cave, Eric Mahoney and Mike Mahoney.

Confirmation of Notice of the Annual General Meeting

The Chairman confirmed that notice of the 2018 Annual General Meeting had been issued as required.

Adoption of Minutes of the Twenty-Second Annual General Meeting:

The Minutes of the previous AGM, having been circulated were confirmed as a true and correct record.

Moved that 'the Minutes of the previous AGM were a true and correct record" Peter Mence/Angus Rogers - carried

Annual Accounts:

The Annual Accounts for the year ended 30th June 2018 were prepared by Robert Taylor of William Buck Ltd, Chartered Accountants, had been reviewed and approved by the Executive Committee, and were also circulated at the meeting.

Rob explained the accounts to the members present, noting the Regatta had almost broken even, the income from the Heritage Landing was pleasing and the lack of income from the Vessel Register was a result of the advertisers not being invoiced.

In a response to questions called for from the floor:

- David Cook gueried the difference in the revenue between 2017 and 2018. It was explained that (i) funding for the 2017 event had been sought through the Tino Rawa Trust whereas in 2018 it had been applied for by the CYA. David asked for a more elaborate account of the expenses given it was such a large amount to be spent on a three day Regatta. Peter reiterated that the overall loss was kept to a minimum thanks to the reimbursement by Tony Stevenson, and the incoming committee would be reviewing the organisation of the Regatta for 2019.
- (ii) Alan Houghton gueried the lack of advertising revenue from the Vessel Register. Peter advised the register was an important part of the CYA given it reached every member and while it appeared the advertisers had been supplied with a free advertisement it was also regarded as a thank you to those who had participated in the past and in the Regatta.

The incoming committee would be reviewing future publications and decide on how it would be funded.

It was then moved 'that the Annual Accounts be received and adopted" Peter Mence/Bert Woolcott - carried

Chairman's Report:

The Chairman's Annual Report was read by Peter and was also circulated at the meeting. The report will be made available on the website.

Election of Executive Committee Members:

The following members were proposed and seconded as listed:

Chair	James Mortimer	Nathan Herbert/Joyce Talbot
Vice Chair	Jason Prew	Nathan Herbert/Graham Russell
Yacht Captain	Andy Ball	Bruce Dunlop/Catherine Arnault
Launch Captain	Nathan Herbert	Graham Russell/Jason Prew
General Committee:	Paige Cook James Dreyer Kate Montgomery Rachel Orr Bruce Dunlop	Ian Cook/Joyce Talbot Nathan Herbert/Jason Prew Paige Cook/Joyce Talbot James Mortimer/Joyce Talbot Catherine Arnault/Joyce Talbot

As all the committee places had been filled by the required time, 1700hrs on Tuesday 24 July, there were no nominations called for from the floor and the executive committee was duly elected as listed above. *Peter Mence/Angus Rogers - carried*

General Business:

There was no General Business

There being no further business, the Chairman thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the meeting.

The meeting closed at 7.25pm